Friday Love

The biggest motivator for me naming my blog Carly Love, is to help me focus on the positive. I could easily have called this post Friday Blues, and focused on the fact that summer is never coming, Chris forgot to take out the garbage (I hate going into our garage to get the garbage), or the fact that I have a day off and quite frankly I would rather be working.

Instead, I am choosing to look at my cup as half full, and have decided to LOVE this Friday!

So what is there to love about this Friday? How about the fact that I have started running again! Despite all my time off, I fell into a serious exercise slump. I finally took charge, made a running plan, and got back into it. My hips are really sore from not exercising for so long, but MAN does it feel good to be at it again.

I sometimes take exercise for granted, and look at it as a chore when in reality, it is the best thing for me both physically and mentally. I’m looking for a gym right now (one that will allow me to go to locations both here and in the city where I work) and was quite hesitant to join a gym. Now I just can’t wait to start group classes and weight lifting again.

So what else makes this Friday spectacular? Well, I might get a bit sappy on you. On Wednesday it was my Big Brother’s birthday! (Happy Birthday Blake!) My brother is one of my best friends, and we have been through everything in life hand in hand. He is the best brother in the world, as well as father to two munchkins, and I’m so proud of him as he is headed to college in September to get an education.

This was three years ago, before baby number two!

Anyways, after talking to my brother on his birthday, he told me he was really proud of me for what I’m doing in life, the job I’ve taken on, and how happy I am. This may not seem like a big deal, but I believe this is the first time anyone has ever told me they were proud of me. And it was the most touching moment of my week. Love you bro!

Lastly, whats making me happy on this particular Friday is not sweating the small stuff. All those complaints I posted at the beginning, not a big deal. Am I alive? Am I healthy? Do I have awesome people in my life? A roof over my head? Things really aren’t so bad after all.

What’s making you happy this Friday?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday Love

  1. Caitlyn says:

    I am happy today because the sun it shining and the weekend is only hours away!

    This was a lovely post! I know that many people are proud of you, even if they have come right out and said it. Congrat’s on your run, as well! Keep it up!!

  2. I too had a day where I could complain… but I too am loved. 🙂 That’s really what it’s all about huh!? Congrats on your run, and your job, and your happiness. There is so much to be proud of!

  3. I’m happy cause I just got a new job! Yippie! Glad you’re focusing on the positive!

  4. Laura says:

    I like your positive spin too… I’m just easing back into running myself after like a month of doing it so sporadically. Hurts so good!! Have you found some nice routes to do near the new place?

  5. I like how you managed to turn your day around and look at the positives. It’s hard to do, but makes such a difference. That’s something to be proud of right there. Congrats on your run!

  6. Pingback: 7 Links | Carly Love

Leave a Reply

