Acceptable

Good Morning! And to all my fellow Canadians, happy “Thursday”! (Canada Day *aka the best day ever* is Friday!)

 This is Canada Day in Ottawa. It is the best/craziest/BEST experience a Canadian could ever have!

Thanks for the well wishes on my interview. I think it went well, and they said they would call me Friday. My references have all been called, so it’s just a waiting game now. I really, really want the job!

Clearly with my excitement, I have told a few people about the details of the job and how much I want it. For the most part, people say “good luck!” and that’s that. However, I have encountered some people who just make me want to scream.

I have told some people about the job and have gotten some of the following responses:

“That will be too hard for you”.  **Ummm….no. It might be too hard for you, but it is what I went to school for. That’s like saying a Doctors work will be hard. It will be, but that is why they are a Doctor!

“You don’t want to drive that far for work”.  ***Ummm….actually I don’t mind. I knew where the job was when I applied.

“You won’t like it”.  **Remind me when you started feeling my emotions please.

I get really flustered when people say things like this, because I don’t want to start a big commotion, but at the same time, are you serious? Did this kind of conversation become acceptable and I just missed it?

Source

I am all for debates. I am all for critical thinking. What I am not for is telling someone how they feel, what they are capable of, or what they like. I would honestly rather have someone call me fat, stupid or ugly then tell me I am incapable of doing something.

So this was a bit of a rant, but I needed to get it off my chest. Phew! Better now.

On a happier note, if you are a fan of the Fast and Furious movies, go see Fast Five. It was a goodie! (Another good thing about small town Chilliwack? The local movie theater only costs $3.50 per person!)

Have you had any recent run ins with rude people? How do you react? Are you a Fast and Furious fan??

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Acceptable

  1. If Friday is Canada day… the best day ever… and Friday is when you find out about the job… then it just seems like an obvious outcome to me! 🙂 Crossing my fingers!

  2. Jess says:

    Wow, people are so judgmental!

  3. Wow, totally agree with you that people should lay off knowing how you’ll feel and stop the negativity. I’m dealing with a bit of that. On Monday I put my 2 week notice in at my office job because I found a full time personal training job. Now my Dad is like networking for me to find another office job because he’s worried about my future with personal training bc it doesn’t pay much. It’s frustrating because I DON’T want an office job and just want to do something that makes me happy. I hate when people question or more like put down what you’re doing. I say go for it; if you’re gut tells you its what you want to do don’t let anyone bring you down.

    • carlydeal says:

      Congrats on following your heart! I feel like personal training will be a MUCH better fit for you then a desk job. Fingers are crossed your Dad sees how happier you will be.

  4. I can’t imagine having the nerve to tell someone how they should and shouldn’t feel. Ugh!

    I’d love to go to Canada for Canada Day, or the US for Independence day. In England, we have St George’s Day (the ‘national’ day) but no one really pays attention to it, and it’s not a public holiday or anything (I just had to look up what date it falls on. 23rd April, apparently!)

  5. Laura says:

    I loved your rant. I would be livid if I were you! That said, I’m sure an hour of quality time with Vin Diesel would calm me right down… and melt me into a little puddle of love.

  6. Happy Canada Day lady!
    Go figure, I take two days off to clean the house, run errands, etc. and not read blogs and I miss the great news about your interview! I hope you hear something positive today!
    Oh, and seriously, how rude! I’ll toast to your dream job!

  7. Stephanie says:

    I haven’t been to Ottawa for Canada Day in ages. I used to go every summer when I was younger. Sorry that people are giving you a hard time about your maybe-job. People can be so negative. I hope everything works out!

Leave a Reply

