Book Club

Good Morning everyone!  Thank you so much for your comments on my Birth Control post, that was some great information!!

Now since I’m not working, and I’m somewhat of a workaholic, I am going a bit stir crazy. Thankfully, Chilliwack has one of the best libraries I have ever been to! There has been lots of reading going on here, so I thought I would recap some of my latest reads for you.

The Glass Castle, by Jeanette Walls

 

This was a re-read for me, and I would read it again. It is a touching memoir about life in an incredibly poor, transient family, and the struggles she faces as a successful adult dealing with her past and her parents. An amazing read that I would recommend to everyone! I don’t want to give anything away, so that’s about as much as I can say, I hope you are convinced anyways.

House Rules by Jodi Picoult

I love Jodi Picoult, I really really do. This book was about a teenager with Asberger’s an a deep fascination for forensic science. This gets him into trouble when he is a suspect in a murder case. I couldn’t put this book down (I read it in two days), and was a bit disappointed by the ending. It was fairly inconclusive, and some story line seemed to just not really go anywhere. That being said, if you are a Jodi Picoult fan, it’s still worth the read.

Beautiful Children by Charles Bock

This book was…..weird. It had a million story lines going on at once (most centered around street kids) and it was difficult to follow how they all tied in. Again, I found the ending inconclusive, and some of the language vulgar for no apparent reason. It was interesting enough for me to finish, but this is not a book I recommend or would read again.

So what am I reading now? A little Chick Lit of course…..

Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

I’m sure this will keep me entertained!

What are you reading right now?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Club

  1. I read the Glass Castle last summer and loved it! Such an incredible story… and true!!

    I haven’t read any of the others but I love Jody Picoult. I am currently reading In the Woods by Tana French. It took me a little while to get into it… but I love it. It’s nothing like I’ve ever read. Personal stories and murder mystery, twisted souls… All you need 🙂

  2. I love Jodi Picoult novels. My first one was My Sister’s Keeper, and after that one I read another 7 in a row within a matter of weeks. Crazy, I never read that much by one author all at once.
    I’m currently reading The Help. I’ve had it on my shelf for about a month, and have heard good things for a few years. But I always resist “popular” (or Oprah) books. But I’m glad I gave it a chance, I’m really enjoying it thus far.
    I’ve also read a slew of great YA books lately, including Thirteen Reasons Why (highly recommend), If I Stay & the sequel Where She Went (highly, highly recommend) and Hate List (highly recommend). I’ve read a ton of YA, but these ones spoke to me. Thirteen Reasons Why and Hate List because I am a teacher at a pivotal age, and If I Stay and Where She Went because they are written with a lot of amazing music and lyrics intertwined and the author writes so eloquently.
    Keep me posted on your reading list! I’m always looking for a good book 🙂

    • carlydeal says:

      I have to track down a copy of The Help, I’ve heard wonderful things. I haven’t read a lot of YA books, I’ll have to check some out! Until I get a job, I will be reading lots so I’ll keep you posted!
      As for the job hunt, it’s going slow. Financially I don’t have to work since Chris new job can secure us. I want to work, but I’m not settling on a job I don’t love and want to be at, so I’m waiting for the right position to come up!

  3. Oh, and how is the job hunt going?

  4. Laura says:

    I really like Jodi Picoult, but I think that Shopaholic book is going to be first on my list! If you want a trashy beach read I LOVE LOVE LOVE “The Man I Should Have Married” by Pamela Redman Satran!

Leave a Reply

