Friend or Foe?

Happy Friday everyone!! 🙂 I hope you are all excited for the weekend!

Yesterday was a horrendous day as I discovered the downside of a farmhouse…..as my cat chased a MOUSE across my living room!!! I had never seen a mouse before and apparently, they terrify me. I actually left the house and went to the library until Chris came home from work. Totally terrifying and I’m still on edge.
 Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse celebrates his 82nd birthday

Source

He looked nothing like this.

Today I wanted to talk about a little something we women have to deal with: Birth Control. So if you are my one male reader, you may want to stop here.

I went on birth control at a young age to help regulate my periods. I stuck with the pill for years, 8 of them in fact, before I realized I was having troubles sticking to a schedule as I became busy, and my mood swings were completely uncontrollable. After talking to some friends, about one year ago I decided to get an IUD.

Now if you don’t know what an IUD is, it is a little fish hook thing they insert inside of you that stops baby making production for 3-5 years depending on the one you get. A more technical definition? Wikipedia says:

“The intrauterine device (IUD) is a form of birth control; it is an object, placed in the uterus, to prevent pregnancy.[1] Among modern IUDs, the two types available are copper-containing devices, and a hormone-containing device that releases a progestogen“.

Source

A few things you should know about getting an IUD put in:

  • It hurts. More than anything I have ever experienced in my life. I was literally crying and sweating the whole time, and Chris had to drive me home after.
  • A gynecologist must put it in (at least in BC)
  • You must get it inserted while you have your period
  • It hurts. A lot.

I want to stress how much it hurt, because I truly wasn’t prepared for it. It ached for about three days, which is normal, as your body is essentially trying to give birth to the foreign object. After it had been inserted, I had pretty unbearable cramps during my periods which was new for me. Needless to say, it was unpleasant.

 

You may remember that I have been experiencing some “mystery nausea” which is why I cut gluten out. From the beginning of the whole thing I suspected it was my IUD making me nauseous, however my doctor said nothing was wrong with it.

Well on Monday I decided to get it taken out anyways, and surprise, surprise, I feel much better! (I’m still not consuming gluten). No cramps, no aches, and less nausea. Coincidence? I think not.

I am not ready to have a baby, so will be seeking out alternatives, however I will be seeking out the most natural alternative I can. I would rather have a baby now then put my body through that again!

So, I’m curious as to your thoughts on Birth Control on our bodies? Do you know anyone who has had a negative experience with BC? 



About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friend or Foe?

  1. The only negative experience any of my friends have had was when one of them got pregnant after having the contraceptive jab! Luckily, she’s happy with the baby now, but at the time she was very frustrated, to say the least.

    I’m on the pill, and have had no adverse effects. I’ll be interested to hear where your natural alternatives take you, though, as this isn’t something I want to be taking forever.

  2. Oh birth control options, how you confuse my body! (and allow me so many options women did not have in the past!)
    I was on the good ‘ol pill for about 5 years before I realized they did not get along with my body (2 week long periods, bleeding though, etc), so I switched to the depo shot. I was on it for 5 years and had my last shot in Aug 2010 (they last for 12 weeks). So I should have gotten another one, but I was sick of being hormonally controlled. So I didn’t get my Nov. shot, and instead picked up a copy of “Taking Charge of Your Fertility” and read it cover to cover in a weekend. Amazing! I learned so much about my body, it was insane. So long story short, I waited, and waited, and waited for my period to come back (I’m one of those rare gals who has no period while on depo) and it took until March. I was so excited, it was insane. But it was only spotting…then I spotted again a month later. And then again, and again, and again, for seven weeks! Actually, the last 3 weeks were “real” periods. It has been miserable. I saw and OBGYN last week about it, and was put on Provera (progesterone) to try to regulate my cycle. Blah! I am hoping it works. The options were a) wait it out (no thanks, I’ve waited 8 months, it is not regulating itself!), b) take provera to jump start things or c) go back on bc pills. So provera it is. I’ve got 4 days left and one of the side effects is moodiness. OMG, I am so cranky! Go figure I gave up candy this month…I am miserable!
    So, yep, total negative experience for me! (But, in hindsight, I was not ready to have a baby before, so bc was my only responsible option).

  3. Whoah, holy long response. Haha, sorry about that. So I will leave you a few funnies re:failed birth control. My 3 besties in college were the results of failed bc. One from a failed IUD insertion, one from failed bc pills and one from a failed vasectomy! Crazy, eh? I’m glad they were failed resultant babies though, I love those girls!

    • carlydeal says:

      Failed vasectomy?!?! Wow, I’ve never heard that one before!

      Thank you for the long winded response, so helpful! However I’m sorry to hear you have been through the ringer 😦

  4. Laura says:

    Doesn’t sound like something I would like! And yesss I need to get my Corral on! This Thursday coming up!!

  5. I actually have only tried birth control for a few months and I didn’t like the way it made me feel or the weight gain that came a long with it. Now I just use the natural method. While I was reading this about how it hurt Ifor two or three days and you had bad cramps I was thinking, “Gosh, that kind of pain would make me so nauseaous.” I’d always wondered about peoples opinions on IUDs. Thanks for sharing.

  6. First, welcome back! I was just without internet for the 3 days we were traveling and it was so strange. Yes, I think the internet can be an addiction. If the first step is admitting you have a problem… then yes, I have a problem! 🙂

    RE: BC – I was on the pill for years!!! and now have been off for years. I will never go back. There are far more natural ways of preventing a baby. I’m going with those for now 🙂 The least amount of foreign objects or hormones the better!

    • carlydeal says:

      Agree, agree, agree with this! The least amount of foreign objects or hormones the better!

      Hey, now that you are getting married can I expect little Spanglish babies in your future??

  7. I love the fertility awareness method like Leila! The book IS amazing! Definitely check out Taking Charge of Your Fertility. I think its a book every female should read! http://www.tcoyf.com/ I did this natural method for a few years. It’s tedious at first but once you get it in tune with your body you notice the signs immediately of impending ovulation, and then when your cycle will begin. Like you, my body doesn’t handle hormones (estrogen…ugh) well at all. It makes me crazy! I did try the copper IUD and it didn’t hurt at all (but it was after one kid) but I have a mental block about anything foreign in my body so I had it removed a month later. Good luck! And, so happy to hear you are feeling better!

    • carlydeal says:

      Thank you, thank you, thank you for the info! I will check out that book ASAP!

      I have been told getting an IUD in didn’t hurt for a lot of women who have had children already. I guess that’s why my friends and I were all in agreement on the pain, and therefore I assumed it hurt everyone. Thanks for your experience!!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Yikes. I can’t believe you had to go through that. I’m glad that you’re feeling better. I used to take birth control pills, but stopped when I decided that I wanted to stop with the hormones. We used condoms for a few years…they do the trick.

Leave a Reply

