Stay-Cation

Happy Monday everyone! It’s a long weekend here, however since I’m not working right now… long weekends don’t mean too much 🙂

Chris was here for almost an entire week, and we had a stay-cation! Chris wanted to feel like he really relaxed before starting his new job tomorrow. We spent the last 7 days relaxing and exploring the most amazing spots on the island, with the most amazing of people!

First stop: Tofino:

 Our wonderful friend Yasmin and I on the beach in Tofino. Yasmin and her boyfriend live in a gorgeous home literally steps from the ocean.

Tofino is a small town on Vancouver Island surrounded by the ocean, and is known for the fishing, surfing, and tourist activities such as whale watching. Yasmin’s boyfriend is a surfer and is preparing for a competition coming up soon. Chris went out surfing with him one day, but I chose to soak up the sun on the shore.

We also went on a hike while we were there to see some of the huge old growth trees in the area.

One of the trees that uprooted during a storm. Crazy!

During our hike we encountered three dogs who followed us the entire time! When I say followed, I mean walked beside us and stopped when we stopped.
Chris with two of our friends!

Overall, an amazing time! If you are ever, ever, ever on the island, you must go to Tofino. Being surrounded by the ocean in a town with such a laid back feel is the best thing EVER!

We left Tofino to go camping in Victoria (about 4.5 hours away from Tofino) with our best friends. I forgot my camera, but that’s okay since it rained and we spent most of our time under tarps! Oh island weather….

Is it a long weekend for you? Any exciting events occur?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Stay-Cation

  1. Laura says:

    The whole time we lived in Vancouver we always said we’d make the trip to Tofino… but never did! My brother goes surfing there all the time though. Looks like a great little trip!!

  2. It looks like you had a beautiful weekend. I’d love to visit somewhere completely different, but still local; it’s amazing what you can find a stone’s throw from your doorstep!!

    • carlydeal says:

      It’s funny that each time I go there I find even more beauty there! Never assume since you have been somewhere, there is no point in going back!

  3. Tofino sounds wonderful!! Love that you guys are enjoying your stay-cation! We have a long weekend next weekend for Memorial Day, there’s a parade and we grill out with family and friends(if the weather cooperates!).

    • carlydeal says:

      Your long weekend sounds great. Kids are so fun to go to parades with, boyfriends just complain! 😉

      • Haha! It’s just a little town parade within walking distance… totally for the kids! My BIL is the same way, he mopes sitting in the kids wagon while we watch it for a whole hour! 😉 Guys are funny!

  4. Looks like you had a blast! Next Monday is the U.S.’s Memorial Day. I left just in time to miss it! Even though I am not a 9 – 5 girl right now… long weekends still feel special.

Leave a Reply

