Life changing people

Happy Monday! I am SO happy to report house hunting went well and we are now the proud renters of a three bedroom house (not apartment, not basement, house!) on a farm! The rent is less then we were paying for our last basement, and we both immediately fell in love with it. Once we move in I will share some pictures of our WONDERFUL place!

Source

I hope you all had a great weekend yourselves!

So, on my way home on that dreaded ferry again, I saw a man who was crazy familiar. When he waved to me it clicked: he was my grade 9 and 10 math teacher, Mr. N.

I went up to him and we chatted for almost the entire ferry ride. Seeing as he taught me over 6 years ago, I was shocked he even remembered me. I often talk about him as he was one of the best teachers I had over the years.

While we were talking I made sure to tell him that not only was he a great teacher, but he was a person who made a big impact on my life for the positive. When I was in grade 10 I transferred schools since my Eating Disorder was getting out of hand. I thought a new environment might help me so I moved in with my Dad. Mr. N was the only person other then family that I told about my ED. He was supportive, listened, and encouraged me on.

Before I had transferred schools, I had a lot of kidney infections and therefore missed a lot of school. Mr. N would go out of his way to make sure my work got to me at home so I didn’t fall behind.

Running into him was a great surprise! He is an amazing man, and he reminded me of the serious difference one person can have; I’m sure I’m not the only student he has impacted.

Who is someone who made a difference in your life?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life changing people

  1. I love it when you get to meet teachers from the past! Last year, two of my sports teams played against my old PE teacher’s teams, and it’s so nice to see that the teacher that pushed me so hard, and that I never thought I’d be able to keep up with, is now struggling to keep up with me! Woohoo!

  2. Congrats on the house… on a FARM! So cool! If you want any horses I can ask the Spaniard’s father is they can spare any. πŸ™‚ Though THAT ferry ride might not work.

    That is so amazing that you ran into your teacher. But not any teacher, it was the one that made the most impact. I love how the universe just aligns sometimes.

    • carlydeal says:

      Haha funny story, Chris is terrified of horses. He has been skydiving, yet refuses to ride a horse. I doubt we’ll be getting horses any time soon!

  3. Congrats on the house! What a great story about your old math teacher, thanks so much sharing! Loved it

Leave a Reply

