Gluten free, an update

Happy Friday everyone! I hope your week has been wonderful and you have an exciting weekend planned!

I thought I would shoot a quick update of how gluten free has been going for me. In one word: Awesome.

The nauseau has not completely ceased, but is minimum 90% better. Due to my eating disordered past, I’m hesitant to restrict myself too much, but I’m fairly confident that if I cut out sugar and dairy as well, I would be much better.

I have “cheated” twice; once at my favorite restaurant in the entire world where I ordered a wrap. Thankfully, I felt okay after. The other time on a cookie that was practically shoved down my throat, I did enjoy it while it lasted.

So although I don’t have celiac’s I will be continuing Gluten free for an indefinite amount of time. The nice thing about being at my Mom’s right now? Time to experiment with different foods and baking. I’ll keep on updating!

On a side note, I have decided to take some rather major changes to take some stress of my life. First off, I have dropped the summer course I was taking. With all this extra time on my hands I couldn’t bring myself to do the work. I feel that is my body’s way of saying “TAKE A BREAK”. So I am.

Secondly, with my blog, I won’t be having a regular schedule. I know this is a big no-no, but it just doesn’t work with my life right now.

Third, I’m giving myself permission to lay in bed this morning and watch Grey’s Anatomy. I may just be that much closer to learning to relax 😉

Do you have any tips for Gluten Free foods? What have you done for YOU lately?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gluten free, an update

  1. I’m glad to hear gluten-free is working out well for you. One of the exclusion diets I tried for my IBS when I was a kid was Gluten free, but I was too young to cook for myself, so can’t give you any recipes, sorry!

  2. It sounds like you are listening to yourself and what you need… both physically and mentally! I big fat congrats for that. Sometimes it’s so hard to just slow down and take a break. I was the worst. But the lifestyle is growing on me 🙂

  3. I’m glad the gluten free is going so well – and good thing you didn’t feel sick after your cheats 😉
    Hmmm, for me lately, I’ve baked up a storm! And painted my nails 3 times in the last week. That gives me 3 hours where I have to sit and not touch anything, so I get to relax a little. Two birds with one polished stone.

  4. I’m so happy you feel better without gluten! I believe that celiac disease is only the strongest form of gluten intolerance, so you don’t have to be a celiac to legitimate a gf diet.

    There are many wonderful gf grains to discover – rice, oat, millet, quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat … And there’s also pasta and flour made from them you can use to substitute wheat, spelt, and the other stuff.

Leave a Reply

