Bittersweet Friday

Happy Friday everyone! Today is my last day of work….so it is a bittersweet day.

Goodbye

Source

I don’t know that I have expressed on here just how much I love my job. As much as I am ready to leave this city, leaving my job has been difficult. I have a boss I consider the most wonderful woman in the world, and colleagues that are some amazing individuals. I also work for an organization I believe in so much, I would likely work for free for them.

Yesterday I came to work to find a beautiful card and a gorgeous bracelet from everyone. It was so touching, and it really feels nice to be appreciated at work. I really hate hearing about people who don’t like their jobs. Life is to short to be miserable for at least 8 hours a day!

So today is the day for goodbyes. I am not good at goodbyes, and typically end up in tears. It’s tough to say goodbye when you truly don’t want to leave them!

For anyone wondering where we are moving….guess what? We still don’t know.


Source

All I know is it will be in Canada. So I’ve stopped stressing out and am headed to Vancouver Island on Sunday to stay with my family until everything is finalized. At first I viewed this as horrible (honestly, who wants to live with their family for two weeks? OK maybe you do but I don’t), now I’m viewing it as likely the only chance I’ll have to not work for two weeks, and not pay rent. I’m going to try to relax!

How do you make saying goodbye easier? Do you like change?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bittersweet Friday

  1. Laura says:

    Take advantage of it! You’ll be back to work in no time!!

  2. I’ve been staying at home over Easter, so I feel your pain. However, rent free living will be awesome, enjoy your two weeks off!

  3. Goodbyes are never easy, but just think of what’s around the corner! Ok, so you don’t know what that is yet 🙂 but I know it will be fabulous!

    As for living with the fam… I love it! I stay with my parents every time I am back in the States and consider it a blessing. I agree, relax and enjoy not working! The time will fly by… and you just might miss it.

  4. It depends on what kind of change! This kind of change is doable (and has been done a few times)…although, I’m not sure I could live with my Mom for two weeks at this age! haha
    Enjoy your time, relax and do some things that you have been wanting to do while you have the chance!

Leave a Reply

