Loving myself

FIRST OFF……HOW BOUT THOSE CANUCKS?!?!

Source

They did it and won game 7! It was a nail biter and I may have lost 5 years of my life last night, but they did it! I’m just the proudest Canuck ever!

Happy Wednesday everyone! I hope it is beautiful wherever you are!

For anyone wondering about this mystery illness I have been facing, it isn’t Celiacs. Which is good, however I would love an answer as to why I am so ridiculously nauseous. All the flipping time. Once we move I will be looking into this some more.

Due to the nausea, I haven’t been working out regularly, which makes me feel just off. I’ve been doing what I can, however it has been awhile since I had a real good sweat. When I feel off like this, it is so easy to get down on myself and just be plain mean to myself. This needs to stop. I’ve begun telling myself the following:

Dear Carly,

Just because you aren’t working out does not mean you are fat, useless, or lazy. It means you are taking care of your body so that in the future it will continue to work for you. In the meantime you must focus on feeling better and being healthy.

We are not going to focus anymore on the parts of your body that you think are getting fat. We are going to focus on how to get better. We are going to focus on the amazing things you are capable of. We are going to focus on the amazing things you have overcome.

Remember that for every mean thing you say to yourself, you know there are 10 good things you truly believe about yourself. It’s not the world that needs to cut you a break, it’s yourself.

Now, stop being a downer, and start being awesome.

Love, Carly.

How will you love yourself today?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Loving myself

  1. Jess says:

    I’m mourning the Sabres:( but want the Canucks to win now!! You gained a fan:)
    great letter, hope it helps ya!

  2. Laura says:

    “start being awesome” —> I love it. We watched the game allllllll the way down here in Cali at a small town Irish pub. It was awesome, even if we were the only two who cared 🙂

  3. Dear Carly,

    You ARE awesome! Such a great reminder that the things we “do” and “don’t do” don’t define us!

    Way to go on taking care of yourself! If you don’t… no one else will.

    I will love myself today by allowing myself to change my schedule and not be so in-type A-sane about it. Release – let go! Sounds silly, but I’ve grown a lot 🙂

  4. Have you see the documentary “America the Beautiful”? There is this one line in there with the author of the Vagina Monologues and she was in Africa talking to women about body image. The *I think* Ethopian woman was asking her if she would consider one tree more beautiful than another tree just because it was smaller. Then she went on to describe all the positive things about her body (her arms carry food, her legs let her run, her breasts provide nourishment for her son, etc. etc.). That quote keeps coming back to me whenever I find myself focusing on the negative about how I perceive myself to look.
    So….long way of saying, focusing on the positive is a very good thing!

Leave a Reply

