What’s your deal?

First off, Happy Birthday to my Man! Chris is 27 today, and he is out of town so I don’t get to celebrate with him. Happy Birthday babe!

Also a late Happy Birthday to my Mom! It was her birthday on Saturday while I was camping. Thankfully I remembered to call her the day before, as we didn’t have cell reception!

My Mom and I this past summer. I know, we look nothing alike. πŸ˜‰

With it being Chris’ birthday, and mine just a few weeks back, we often get asked what we bought each other. Truth is, we don’t exchange presents. Ever.

We have both been in past relationships where presents became a competition of who could buy the best gift. It’s stressful, unnecessary, and expensive. We agreed from the very beginning of our relationship that we wouldn’t buy each other presents.

The only exception to this rule is one year I bought concert tickets for us, and surprised him with them on his birthday. He did the same thing 2 years later with concert tickets for me. Experiences don’t count as presents.

My Michael Buble tickets! Huge surprise.

The topic of us not buying gifts came up this weekend and many people were asking us, “What’s your deal? Why not?”. I figure every relationship has their own rules and quirks, this is just one of ours.

Some others?

-Chris doesn’t do laundry, I don’t unload the dishwasher. It’s more of an unspoken rule.

-If I ask a dumb question (such as are dragons real? Yes, those words escaped my mouth), Chris doesn’t tell anyone. Ever. Even if I have shared the story.

-We aren’t one of those couples who need to talk all the time (call/text all day), however if one of us is out of town, we touch base at least once a day.

What are some of your relationship rules? Or just rules for life? Any fun superstitions?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What’s your deal?

  1. Laura says:

    It is law that I never have to take out the garbage or make the bed… we don’t celebrate anniversaries or holidays other than birthdays and Christmas… and he LOVES that I think flowers are a waste of $ and diamonds are unnecessary, haha.

    Thank you for reminding me how nice this is!

  2. happy birthday to your man I love how you and your mom dont look alike, I dont look like my family either haha

    • carlydeal says:

      I feel like the worst thing a grown woman can hear is “you look like your Dad”. Thanks, I’ve always dreamed of looking like a 50 year old man. Glad I didn’t get my looks from him!

  3. eatspinlive says:

    Oh my goodness!! I love Michael Buble!! πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful Tuesday!

  4. Happy birthday to Chris! So jealous of the Michael Buble tickets!!

  5. Whoever cooks, the other is responsible for the dishes. This is why I do the majority of the cooking. I hate doing the dishes!
    Oh and he does outside work on the weekends, I do inside work.
    Happy birthday to Chris & your mom!

  6. First, so happy you survived camping! I am sure the cold… though cold πŸ™‚ does help with the feeling clean factor! πŸ™‚

    My deal: I do not grocery shop for the Spaniard. We both do our own food shopping… and laundry. It works. I have wondered what will change when we move to the U.S. one day… we will see.

    I do not have the arm muscles to do all of the grocery shopping. I can barely manage my own πŸ™‚

    • carlydeal says:

      That’s interesting! I do all the grocery shopping, regardless of who’s turn to pay it is since I love grocery shopping. It’s therapeutic for me.

Leave a Reply

