I survived!

I survived camping in -5 degree weather! (Okay, I’m whining, it was only that cold at night and we had 18 degree weather during the day).

We lucked out as a girl left early on Saturday and left us her extra blankets. Friday night was so cold I cried and convinced myself I would die, Saturday night was much more successful.

Nothing is more relaxing then spending a weekend camping on the beach, relaxing with friends, and getting as much fresh air as possible. There were outhouses as well, which is key for more than one night of camping.

This was the view from our tent. Doesn’t get much better!

We found a beautiful spot right on the beach and there was no one else around (other then the 30 of us camping together). It was pure bliss. Whenever I think I don’t like camping, it’s because I am focusing on the cold, the dirt and the effort. The best thing about camping at this time of year is you don’t get sweaty, and therefore don’t feel nearly as dirty. Chris is a camping expert so the effort is pretty minimal on my part.

The key to camping? Layers. Can you tell that I am wearing 3 tee shirts, two sweaters, and two pairs of pants?

Since none of my family lives near me, and we aren’t religious, it didn’t really occur to me that it was Easter this weekend. So Happy Easter to everyone! I’m back to work for a short day today, it’s my final week before the move!

Did you enjoy your long weekend? What did you do for Easter?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I survived!

  1. Caitlyn says:

    You are tough for camping in -8 degree weather! I don’t know if I ever would have left the tent, and if I did I would have looked like an Eskimo!

  2. You are a trooper! I’m such a baby when it comes to being cold 😦 that spot is pretty beautiful though!

  3. Laura says:

    I agree, you’re a trooper! Beautiful view… and I love the layering! There’s just something so refreshing about camping where you do what ya gotta do to stay warm.

  4. bakebooks says:

    Wow – so beautiful! Your TOUGH. Camping is not for the faint of heart πŸ™‚ But I think it’s such a great way to experience LIVING….and eating beans and weiners and toasted marshmallows…just sayin’.

    πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

