Wild Emotions!

Happy Wednesday! Which is really Thursday since Friday is a stat!

I am naturally an irrationally emotional  highly sensitive person. Well, add in the stress of an unknown move around the corner, leaving a job I love, and some bad news….and you get a super emotional Carly.

This is pouty Carly. She makes appearances frequently.

Yesterday I sent my farewell email to my volunteers at work, and was blown away by the response. I received some of the most beautiful emails back which were so touching they led me to tears  sob fests. As emotional as it made me, they truly made me feel like all the hard work I have done these last two years was so incredibly worth it.

The bad news? I will save that for another day as it isn’t 100% confirmed quite yet.

Yesterdays roller coaster of emotions made me really reflect on how amazing my 3 years in Kelowna have been. Although I am so ready to leave, I can’t complain. These have been some of the best years of my life.

I met my amazing boyfriend

I started a job that taught me life is too short to stay in a position you hate. It was the most rewarding experience and a major, necessary, stepping stone.

I met some of the most important people in my life now. Chris had 5 roommates when we first met and they have become our family.

One is missing! He refused to be part of our Flinstone family.

I have learned many amazing things in this city such as how to snowboard, become highly independent, and how to drink wine like a champ.

This is how not to drink wine like a champ.

Most importantly, when I reflect on my time in this city, I am proud of myself. I am proud of the fact that I learned to fully trust someone in a relationship. I am proud of myself for not letting my distance from my friends and family allow me to slip back into my disordered eating habits. Mostly, I am proud of myself for never giving up in a new city, that at times, was excruciatingly lonely.

These next two weeks will now be a celebration of all that I have accomplished as well as all that is to come.

What have you accomplished in the last 5 years? What are you proud of? Are you an emotional disaster like me?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Wild Emotions!

  1. peacebeme says:

    New reader, but have to say I love this post. Awesome that you learned so much from that city and that you can take all the hard stuff as lessons that drove you towards good things. That is what I take away from the last couple of years for myself. I am excited about the new city I just moved to!

  2. Those flinstones costumes are beyond amazing!!

    The last 5 years of my life have been a complete whirlwind. I finished UK ‘school’, moved to college, travelled then went to university. As much as I developed as a person during my two years at college and made some life-long friends, I think my life changed the most at 18 when I did my gap year. I worked for 5 months in a job I hated (it was meant to be 7 months, but, like you, I realised life is too short, and handed in my notice after 4 months, and saw out the project), then moved to Spain and spent 4 months working and improving my spanish, then moved to South Africa and made some friends that really changed my life, as they all believed in really living in the moment. In the first month of meeting them, I’d bungee jumped, stroked a cheetah, swam in shark infested waters and survived an entire month of teaching in a school where English was the third language. We did some really stupid things, and at times they made me want to pull my hair out when they didn’t think of the consequences, but they gave me 3 of the most amazing months of my life, and I don’t think I’ll ever regret it.

  3. Oh Carly! Hugs to you too! I can be a emotion disaster for sure! Perhaps we can be each others “impartial party” email friends. 🙂 There is so much unknown, uncertain and scary… but that leaves all the room in the world for the amazing and surprisingly wonderful!!

  4. Whew, sonuds like there’s a lot going on in your life atm! Nothing bad about being emotional then, totally normal! 🙂

    During the past 5 years … I’ve started psychology studies and got an idea of what to do with my life, finally got healthier, finally found back to myseld. Still a lot of struggling, but on the way up again! 🙂

    • carlydeal says:

      Glad to hear you’ve had a positive 5 years! Someone once told me when you feel like the climb up the mountain will never end, remember to look down and see how far you’ve come.

  5. Laura says:

    Sounds like Kelowna was good to you! Good for you for not giving up.. moving is hard but starting over is an amazing thing.. hopefully your next city is just as fun!!

  6. I’ve accomplished nothing in the last 5 years…I’m so ashamed. I barely even walk anymore and wonder what the heck is happening to my body. I feel so shamed and hopeless. And I need to find and know what to do. Confusing.
    I love that Flintstones picture. Love it.

  7. Pingback: 7 Links | Carly Love

Leave a Reply

