Obsessions

Happy Wednesday! We’re almost there!!

So fun fact about me: When I like something, I REALLY like it. I become mildly “obsessed” with things for at least a week at a time. Recent obsession? Polygamy.

'Sister Wives' Polygamist Family explains why they went Public
Source

Now, when I say I’m obsessed with polygamy, that does NOT mean I am obsessed as in interested in getting involved. I just am absolutely fascinated with it, and have been doing a lot of reading/watching shows about it. Mostly I have been watching the reality show Sister Wives, and the fictional show Big Love.

I’m not a religious person, none of my family is. I think that is why I am so amazed at extreme religion or people who are involved in such different things then I am used to, such as polygamy.

For those of you who don’t know, polygamy is quite simply a marriage which includes more than two partners. Although more common between a man and many women, it does exist where a woman marries more than one man, it is just rare.

The show Sister Wives outlines life between a man and his 4 wives. What I really like about this show is it seems like it is close to reality TV; there are no ridiculous adventures, they seem like real people. Also, the first three wives were all married to him before any children were born, so the majority of the children have only ever known this to be there family. They are healthy and happy children, and everyone involved is a consenting adult. There are no child brides or anything polygamy is often criticized for.

big love seasons 1-2 dvd box set

Source

Big Love is the fictional HBO show I have recently started watching. It is interesting because, as fiction, it outlines all the jealously and anger between the wives I’m sure is prevalent in the Sister Wives family, but not shown on TV.

This show is about a polygamist family who cut ties from their family living in a compound, full of child brides and extreme rituals. It’s a fascinating look on things, and don’t worry, I remember it is fiction and take it with a grain of salt.

When I first started watching these shows, I thought I would be way too jealous to ever consider the idea of it! (Not that I was ever considering the idea.) Now, I think what crazy man would ever want to deal with that many women?? Imagine the hormones, the jealousy, the neediness! I would go crazy.

What’s your perspective on polygamy? Crazy, or okay between consenting adults? Anyone else hooked on Sister Wives??

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Obsessions

  1. Jess says:

    I think its crazy! -mainly because I can’t imagine sharing someone I love like that.

  2. What a hot topic! First I am jealous that you get to watch these shows! Spain = no U.S. tv except Fresh Prince re-runs… and definitely no HBO! 🙂

    I’ve watched Big Love in the past and loved it!

    As for real life polygamy I am of the belief that people should have the right to marry whoever they please, be in someone of the opposite sex, same sex, or multiples. I DO have a problem with child brides and abuse and SO MANY things that have gone wrong in these situations. Where do you draw the line? I don’t know. But consenting adults can do as they please as long as no harm is done to anyone else…

    But as for me – I could NEVER share my man! 🙂

    • carlydeal says:

      Oh lord, Fresh Prince? I would go crazy. There are a ton of websites you can watch shows on, that’s how I do the majority of my tv watching!

      I agree that people should just marry whoever the heck they want. I really applaud the Sister Wives family for being brave enough to venture into the media and put their lives on display.

  3. bakebooks says:

    I’ve never seen that show but I’ve heard of all the controversy! I don’t know…to be honest, if they’re all happy as a family, who are we to say otherwise? 😉

  4. I am completely fascinated by it! I am reading The 19th Wife, which is a parallel story between the 19th wife of Brigham Young and a current 19th wife who is accused of murdering her husband. It is really interesting, and I’m wondering how much truth there is to the Brigham Young part.

  5. Stephanie says:

    Honestly? I don’t like the idea. Maybe I’m not as open-minded as I like to believe, but I just feel that polygamy – with multiple wives to one husband – often goes hand-in-hand with anti-woman beliefs and practices.

Leave a Reply

