Words of wisdom

Happy Monday everyone! Let’s make this a good week mmmk?

This weekend was relatively unproductive, but good nonetheless. Friday night was Chris’ big engineering grad gala. He worked 7 long hard years for this, I was so proud!

Chris has two exams this week and then he is finally done. He gets his offer package from a company in Alberta tomorrow, so hopefully we get a bit closer to knowing where we are moving very soon!

As I said on Friday, I have been in a bit of a rut and become a bit of a negative Nancy lately. This grad gala was exactly what I needed to help me get out of that. There were speeches from instructors, students, and the dean of Engineering. They were some of the most motivational, uplifting, beautiful speeches I have ever heard.

Here were some of the words that will stick with me:

“Whenever you feel like you will never reach the top of the mountain, look down and see how far you’ve come” -the dean of the UBCO Engineering department

“Stop making plans. Live life today. You don’t plan for life…this is life.” Student speaker

“Money doesn’t bring happiness. The first step to happiness is truly believing money will not get you there” Engineering Professor

And perhaps my favorite, “Likely, everyone in this room failed a test, maybe an entire course, but hey, life didn’t end now did it? We all got over it, and we all got here. Don’t ever beat yourself up, you are capable.” Student speaker

The student who said “this is life”, couldn’t have been more right. This is it! I have been living looking forward to our move and the change, and have not been enjoying the moments I have right now. I could get hit by a bus tomorrow, I need to stop looking into the future. It starts today!

Today I go to the doctor who will hopefully be able to finally tell me why I am so nauseous. Wish me luck!

What are some of your favorite words of wisdom?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Words of wisdom

  1. Laura says:

    “you don’t plan for life… this is life” ——> I need someone to remind me of that every. single. morning. Good luck at the doctor’s today… I hope the answers are simple and the problem is easy to fix!

  2. There are two quotes that I carried in my planner every day for almost a year… the year before I moved to Spain. I read them now and just smile!

    “And the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to bloom.” – Anais Nin

    “You may be only one brave decision away from the most important turn in your life.”

    I hope all goes well today!

  3. Love your dress! Totally agree we should live in the moment rather than plan plan plan (I’m such a planner).

Leave a Reply

