Whats your take?

Good morning! How is it already Thursday? This week went way too fast.

This past weekend a bunch of us went out to the bush to have a fire and do some shooting. This is a pretty typical day around here.

Yes, I shoot in a dress.

I was recapping my weekend with the girls at work and so many of them couldn’t believe we went shooting! They thought it was dangerous and irresponsible. Give me a break.

I was more appalled at their disbelief than anything. We don’t shoot animals, or people. We shoot clays, targets, or if your me, thin air. There is always at least one person there with their gun license, however typically those with licenses outnumber those without. We also only go to open areas where we can clearly see that there is nobody anywhere nearby.

I get in depth tutorials. And I’m starting to question my bush wear.

We are all very safe with the guns. Only those with licenses load them, rules number 1-5 are never point the gun at anyone, and the most dangerous part of the whole experience is how loud it is!

 

I really see guns as no more dangerous then say, dirtbiking. If used responsibly, they can be a lot of fun.

So what’s your take on guns? Do you too think I am going to blow my brains out? Or do you see them as a fun recreational activity? Have you ever shot a gun?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Whats your take?

  1. Laura says:

    I don’t like guns and I don’t want a gun, but I don’t think what you did was crazy at all! We used to do that in the bushes around Salmon Arm when I was in school… granted I was in junior high so it WAS a little crazy… but I wouldn’t criticize an adult for doing it now. Love that you dolled it up a bit with your dresses 🙂

    Don’t even get me started on dirt-biking, quading, snow-mobiling, etc. I can count on 2 hands the number of friends/family friends/acquaintances that have died as a result of those stupid things!

    • carlydeal says:

      Agreed about the dirtbikes/quads etc. My best friend died in a skateboarding accident, you never know whats going to happen! Sorry to hear you have lost so many loved ones.

  2. In an overall gun stance, I’m pretty anti-guns (you’re not legally allowed to own one in the UK unless you meet about a billion requirements, and I’m a-ok with that) but I don’t get why they were getting annoyed with you about clay-pigeon shooting! Yes, it can be dangerous if you do it with idiots, but so long as everyone is sensible it’s just a recreational activity! I’ve got to say, it’s not something I’ll ever try (mainly because I barely trust myself with dull safety scissors, let alone a gun!) but it looks like it could be a fun activity.

    • carlydeal says:

      I do think it should be tougher to own a gun. Here all you need is a two day course and gun only cost about 150$.
      “I barely trust myself with dull safety scissors”..Ha! I love you!

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    Hm, I’m torn. I’m actually against people having things to potentially kill other people with. I know, you can also kill somebody with a kitchen knife, but the first association I have with a kitchen knife is cutting vegetables, while the first association I have with a gun is killing somebody. Still, I can understand the fascination about aiming and hitting the goal you’ve aimed at.

    • carlydeal says:

      I had never shot a gun until about two years ago. It’s definitely not my favorite hobby, but a good time now and then. To clarify where our gun is stored, it is in a locked gun safe and has a combination lock on the trigger. It’s purely recreational, if someone broke in I wouldn’t be able to figure out how to get the gun out!

  4. Hmm… I’ve never shot a gun. But feel like I need to learn. Just in case. I don’t see them as a recreation activity personally … though I know people who do. And I’d much rather the shooting of clay verses animals. 🙂

    To each their gun shooting own. As long as they are licensed and safe… etc..etc..

    If it’s your cup of tea… drink up! 🙂

  5. Two thumbs up for shooting in a dress! I have never shot a gun, but would like to learn someday.

    With that said, I never want to own a gun. They scare me and I think they’re dangerous (basically because they are abused by so many people). However, if used for the right purposes and safely (like you did!) then I have no problem with other people owning one.

    • carlydeal says:

      It is too bad that so many people abuse them, and that fact does scare me. I guess since we use them properly, I sometimes forget how many people don’t!

Leave a Reply

