Three Years of Love

My man and I don’t really celebrate much other then Christmas…so there has never been ANY sort of anniversary celebration. Which is why there will be no big celebration today which marks three years since our first date.

Chris and I met online. It took me a long time to admit that to anyone because three years ago it wasn’t too common yet. However, it turned out to be the realistic way to meet someone when you live in a new town, work only with girls, and don’t go to the bar. I found it also gets the preliminary deal breakers out of the way immediately. (i.e. I knew he wasn’t divorced, a smoker, or had kids…which at the age of 20 were all deal breakers for me).

Our first date went well, but I would be lying if I said it was love at first sight. But it must have been something at first sight since we saw each other two more times that same week. Within the month we were “Facebook official” girlfriend and boyfriend.

Before meeting Chris, I had dated jerk after jerk after jerk. I honestly had a hard time understanding that Chris did not play games and he was honest. It was a brand new experience for me.

As time went on, I realized my boyfriend was my best friend. I have never loved anyone this much before, and I have never had this much fun with someone before. We laugh. We laugh every single day. I can count on one hand how many times we have fought. And most importantly: he gives me butterflies and makes me feel beautiful. Every. Single. Day.

Having someone who believes in me, supports me, and loves me no matter what ridiculous things I say and do is the biggest blessing in my life. I’m also glad that I had the past experiences I had so that I can truly appreciate him the way he deserves to be appreciated.

I think what has been key in our relationship being successful is that we share many interests, yet we live separate lives as well. He is more then welcome (and encouraged) to have guys nights, and same for me with my girls. It is not reasonable to spend every waking second together. He would kill me. πŸ˜‰

Before I stop with the overload of love and go kiss my boyfriend….I will share a funny story which makes it apparent that it is a wonder he continued to date me. During one of our first few dates, Chris was explaining to me about man made islands. Call me whatever you wish, but I had NO idea any islands were man made. Without really thinking, I asked if Vancouver Island was man made. Now…for anyone not Canadian, you may not appreciate how ridiculous of a question this is. Vancouver Island is over 32,000 square kilometers. Clearly not man made. Worse then that? Up until two weeks before meeting Chris…I had never lived anywhere BUT on Vancouver Island. How he shook this statement off is a wonder πŸ˜‰

Other fun fact: I was a total hussy and kissed him first.

So although we don’t celebrate anniversary’s, I am taking the time to acknowledge that three years ago today my life changed for the better. My life changed for the best.

How did you meet your significant other? If you are a fierce and fabulous single lady/man, what are your deal breakers in a “love interest” :)?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Three Years of Love

  1. Laura says:

    You guys have some great pictures together!! Congrats!! I don’t think there’s any shame in meeting online… it was by coincidence that you found each other (online or not) and that’s what matters! My BF and I were in the same program at university and took classes together for a full year before we so much as spoke to one another. We were both dating other people at the time and I guess we had no interest in making friends of the opposite sex. Love at first sight isn’t for everyone and it doesn’t make those first few dates any less special, right? Right!

  2. I enjoyed reading about your relationship, it sounds like you have something really wonderful going. I think online is a great place to meet other singles that aren’t into the drinking and bar scene. I’m so glad I don’t have to be in all that.

    My husband and I actually met through friends a LOOONG time ago when we were freshmen in highschool at a new years eve party. We actually didn’t like eachother at first; I was apparently one of those loud obnoxious girls and he was one of those boring sit around the food table and not say much kind of guys. Somehow after about 2 years we started dating and he stole my heart. We became highschool sweethearts, dated through college, and got married the year after.

    P.S. The fact that there are man made islands is news to me!

    • carlydeal says:

      So glad you haven’t heard about man made islands either…
      Sometimes opposites really do attract! Very sweet story. And thank you SOO much for the award, so sweet of you! Tomorrows post will honor that πŸ™‚

  3. Love this write up about your relationship! My husband and I are all about time together and apart, it’s how our relationship first began. We met while he was in the US Navy and dated for a year before he re-stationed to a near by state. I stayed put and we dated for 3-4 years living in different states before he popped the question!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. My husband actually picked out that mug for me in Disney! He is fueling my addiction to coffee!
    Congrats on 3 years, and many more!

  4. You are one lucky lady! I am a “fierce and fabulous single lady” enjoying everyday of my life! If and when I find Mr. Right, the deal breakers will include not smoking, no kids, and a love for food, cooking, exercise, and travel! I want Mr. Right to be my best friend, someone who I look forward to being with each day. Mr. Right and I will have a respect for each other’s need for “personal” space and allow each other to have what you called boys night or girls night! A little independence and separation in a relationship is very healthy.

    • carlydeal says:

      Your Mr.Right sounds awesome πŸ™‚ Separation is very healthy, so does honesty in being able to speak up when you need space. It’s nothing to be ashamed of!

  5. I love that first picture! Blow it up and frame it!

    I met my boyfriend, the Spaniard, on a volunteer vacation to Spain. Seriously what were the chances? Better yet, what are the chances that a single 30-something Spanish man isn’t a smoker. Slim to none, I’ll tell you!

    Smoking = definitely a deal breaker! So is smothering. I need my space and my time alone. Which in and of itself is interesting considering I moved to his country and straight in with him. Nothing like “make it or break it,” huh?

    I’m happy to report we’re making it!

    • carlydeal says:

      The first picture is my favorite! Thanks so much!
      I just started reading about the Spaniard today, you guys are amazing! I love hearing make it or break it stories, they’re so incredible.

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    This made me really happy – that stories like yours really happen. And I totally believe what you said about sharing interests and yet keeping an individual life is a key to a good relationship – it prevents developing away from each other and growing into a couple monster. I’m single, and my relationship experience aren’t very happy so far, but I hope one day I’ll be with somebody who’s of the same kind as I am.

    • carlydeal says:

      My relationship experiences hadn’t been very happy either, I think it makes us really evaluate ourselves and discover what we just won’t stand for. It also makes you appreciate the good relationships you encounter in your life. I am in total awe of your independence and confidence, you’re awesome!

  7. Jess says:

    I love this post so much, and it reminded me a lot of my relationship with my boyfriend ( we met in college- we were on the same freshman hall). Happy anniversary!

  8. nnd says:

    Such a nice post. You guys look so in love.

  9. Just letting you know I nominated you for an award on my blog!

  10. Pingback: 7 Links | Carly Love

Leave a Reply

