How to make the best of it.

Now, one of the downsides to life not being perfect is that you have to learn to adjust and deal with things that don’t quite work out your way.

Source

You can totally throw a temper tantrum. Sometimes it feels awesome, but other people don’t tend to really appreciate it. I know this from hands on experience.

So on Sunday, when my planned run (which I was SOO excited for) went horribly, I was upset. I pretty much live on a mountain, and due to poor planning my run was too hilly and I fell apart after about 20 minutes. Key words: poor planning.

During said run I also felt a lot of pain in my knee. Because of this, I didn’t try and attempt my run the next day. Not a big deal, but at the time….HUGE deal to me!

My personality is that of a planner, so I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t incredibly disappointed. Mostly because I will be re-doing that run, which throws off my whole training schedule! Again, in retrospect, not a massive deal.

Source

Whether it’s a bad run, a bad day, or a rude comment, shaking it off isn’t easy. However, there are lots of things you can do to constructively deal with these situations:

1. Refocus. Since my run was a big plan for that day, what can I refocus my energy on to get the most out of the day?

2. Laugh. Find humor in the ‘disaster’.

3. Express your disappointment and move on. Journal, call a friend, blog….get out your disappoint and then leave it behind. Life’s too short to be bummed all the time.

4. Do something you KNOW you will enjoy. Watch some gossip girl, read a book, call a friend….whatever it is that is guaranteed to brighten your mood.

Any other tips? How do you shake a bad day?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to How to make the best of it.

  1. Sorry your run went bad. I shake a bad day by putting it into perspective. What’s one day/event in the scheme of life? Dwelling on it just wastes the time and days you have to be happy and focus your energy else where.

    P.S. I love wine too!

    • carlydeal says:

      Good point! My Mom used to always ask me..”How much will this matter in a month?”
      P.S. I’m so glad you love wine too! I was starting to feel like the only one!

  2. I can’t even jog 1 step — literally . So you are a hero in my books!
    Good post Carly — “refocusing” is so crucial (yet so hard).

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog and entering the giveaway! Good luck 🙂

    This was a great post! You’re right…while throwing a fit may be your first reaction, it is much better to handle disappointing situations in a positive manner. You listed some great ideas.

    When I have a bad day, I like to vent to my husband. He may not like that option so much, but he always listens!

    • carlydeal says:

      Thank you for stopping by! Yes, my man gets an earful often, however I’m not sure if he is listening or if he has mastered the look of listening..;)

  4. Laura says:

    The bad runs make you appreciate the good ones so much it’s ridiculous… I’ve had my fair share of bad runs throughout this 1/2 marathon training and they’ve usually been when I’ve not planned things out very well (like you). That said, I live in a flat part of town so you’re welcome to come run with me anytime you like!

Leave a Reply

