Living with an Allergy

I have a confession: I am allergic to nuts.

File:Sa almonds.jpg

Source

These wonderful little gems which make so many people happy and satisfied, make me hold on to my epi pen for dear life.

Let me back up and give you some history. I used to love nuts; specifically almonds and pistachios. Never had any problems with them other then trying to figure out how to get more of them into my mouth.

About a year ago I realized whenever I ate granola bars with nuts in them the back of my mouth would swell up. I never thought anything of it and honestly (naively?) thought stuff was just stuck in my teeth.

Flash forward to Summer 2010. We were at Chris’ family’s cottage in the Muskoka’s (minimum one hour from civilization/a hospital). I had a handful of cashews and went on with my day. About one hour later my tongue was so swollen I was having a hard time talking eating was out of the question. The second Chris saw my mouth he panicked. I took some benadryl and hoped for the best. Thankfully, I was fine.

After that incident I went for testing and learned I am allergic to almonds however was recommended to stay away from all nuts. I now have a handy dandy epi pen as well.

Source

Living with an allergy to something as common as nuts is not devastating, but it is a pain. I think it’s mostly a pain because I spent a large part of my life eating and enjoying nuts. Now having to say no to nuts and check ingredient labels is not easy and I don’t always remember. I think the biggest pain is the amount of recipes that look to die for, but I must pass on due to the amount of nuts involved.

Are you allergic to anything? Do you know anyone else who ran into an allergy in their 20’s??

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Living with an Allergy

  1. Laura says:

    Oh my goodness! I’ve never had an allergy before (and hope I never do). It sounds so inconvenient!! Good thing you’ve got an epi pen though… my BF is really allergic to bee stings but refuses to carry one around with him. Men!!

  2. Jess says:

    I’m allergic to a bunch of things (but not that bad)- like dust, cats, dogs, etc. I developed them in my late teens, I think:)

  3. I don’t have any allergies, but I have a massive list of food intolerances, the most prevalent being bread (well, yeast) and mushrooms. I only discovered both when I was about 12, so I know how much I like both of them, making resistance so difficult!

  4. I don’t have any allergies that I know of..but I can’t imagine being allergic to nuts!! I love those nuts!!

  5. Pingback: 7 Links | Carly Love

Leave a Reply

