Fears

I have to get blood work done today and I…am…terrified. Terrified!

I am aware they don’t hurt, the needles (hate this word) aren’t big, and it takes about two seconds. I’ve done this a million times. Yet, terrified.

The worst part is, I have many tattoos. One which took almost 30 hours. Also, one right on my arm, so whoever is taking my blood can see that I am a wuss, yet have tattoos. It always makes for condescending conversation. Yet, still terrified.

Source

I’m not really legitimately terrified of many things but needles definitely top the list. This doesn’t include tattoo needles and my reasoning is that they don’t just stay inside of you, they are constantly moving. Okay, enough needle talk.

I’m scared of: bugs, rodents, big dogs. But definitely not terrified.

What are you scared of? Anyone else hate needles but have tattoos?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Fears

  1. Jess says:

    I hate getting my blood drawn- they can never find my damn veins! haha.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) says:

    I hate needles! And I’ve made the acquaintance of too many (although I don’t have a single tattoo ;)) … I’m also afraid of turbines. The thought to get sucked in and chopped by one scares me to death, so I have problems when seeing a movie in which people are climbing around turbines (that sometimes happens in action movies), and as I child, I couldn’t sleep in a hotel room that had a ceiling fan.

  3. Needles were invented to drive fear into the heart of every man, woman and child. I hate them so much!

    I hope your blood test went OK. My last blood test was both hilarious and horrific – the nurse spent 15 minutes trying to find a vein, but couldn’t locate one, so stabbed me with the needle anyway!! No blood came out, I thought I was empty! They usually do my blood tests on the back of my hand because my veins are never visible at the elbow, it makes me squirm so much.

  4. Laura says:

    I don’t have any tattoos and even the THOUGHT of a needle makes me sick… I feel for ya! Good luck!!

  5. I used to hate needles, but then I started donating plasma in college for extra money & I got used to them real quick!

  6. The only reason why I get nervous when I go to get bloodwork done is because I’m afraid something is wrong with me! Hypocondriac, much?

  7. i’m TERRIFIED of bats. (which sucks because i live in Australia.) good luck to you girl! take a breath and look away…. 🙂

Leave a Reply

