What Would You Do?

Happy Thursday! I don’t work on Friday so this is the day I’ve been waiting for all week!

Yesterday at work, my good friend was texting me to help the day go by faster. Somehow we got on to the illusive topic of, What would you do if you won the lottery?

Source

 

Here are the main things I believe would occupy my time:

1) I would volunteer. Working for a non profit has made me wish I could be one of my many amazing retired or wealthy volunteers who spend about 20 hours volunteering every week. I would love to volunteer with children or animals.

2) I would read. I love to read, but never seem to find/make the time for it anymore.

3) I would learn to relax. I would love to be able to schedule one day a week where I do only things for myself…I’d go for a run, bake, read, go for coffee…but there would be no agenda.

4) I would of course, travel. Bali and Australia are at the top of my list.

My friend I was talking about this with is an amazing musician, so we also made a deal that if one we both won, I would bake for him and he could serenade me all day. This sounds like a great deal to me!

What would you do if you won the lottery?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. I love your ideas! I would definitely give up all forms of work and replace it with volunteering. I’d love to be able to afford to stay in education for longer, as well, so that I could do a Masters or PhD. Moving to Italy or Spain would be a priority, but I’d love to see more of the UK too! Life really is too short 🙂

  2. oh man, i never find the time to read either. i think i get through a novel every 2 months. (sad.) if i won the lotto that would definitely be on the list, and world travel, of course. i haven’t been to Bali yet but i can vouche that Australia is a pretty nice place! 🙂

  3. This is a question I think about often. (Somehow, that thinking hasn’t translated to a higher odds of winning.) I’d write full-time with the hopes of publishing my novel. And then once that was published I’d be a full-time author. I’d also read a ton. And create my own charity so I could give money away and know exactly where it went. Oh, and buy a house and clothes and stuff. (I mean, you’ve gotta spend a little, right?)

  4. Caitlyn says:

    Winning the lottery would be a dream come true! The first thing I would do would put enough aside to pay for the master’s program I’m going to be entering. I might be generous and pay for my sister’s college tuition as well (good sister, eh!). After that, I really don’t know what I’d do because I have never been a big spender. Ok, I would definitely drive to the nearest Whole Foods, EarthFare, and Ikea and splurge…but just a little!

    • carlydeal says:

      What a nice sister you are! I’d probably put my niece through college…educations are something everyone should be entitled to. We don’t have Whole Foods or Earthfare where I live, but Ikea yes 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Great question! I would open a bakery in a heartbeat… and as for volunteering, I would hold free baking classes for kids to do after school. I can’t believe how many parents don’t bake cookies with their kids these days!! It hurts my heart!!

Leave a Reply

