That which moves me

Happy Monday everyone! Nothing is better than when a Monday rolls around and you can say “What a productive weekend I had!”.

This is not one of those Mondays for me.

I had a pretty lazy weekend. I did manage to spend some good time with some good friends, hit up our indoor winter farmers market, do some cleaning, got in two amazing workouts (including a phenomenal run) and watch the Oscars. However that about sums it up!

My man however had a productive day of snowboarding. He and our good friend hiked to a peak where they had 360 degree views. He was kind enough to take some pictures for us 🙂

I got asked an interesting question from a friend recently. She asked why I was working out so much and why I didn’t spend my time doing other things. I found this to be an incredible question since to me, it’s more of a a why wouldn’t I question. However, it really got me thinking.

First off, “working out so much” to her means something completely different to me. If I had it my way, I would be working out much more than I am. I typically get about 45 minutes in each day, and would love to improve on that. I find it difficult to stick to my running schedule due to weather (we have snow AGAIN this morning) since I quit my gym. There are always excuses. That is far from “too much” in my opinion though.

My answer though?

I exercise to clear my mind; it’s really the one activity that calms me and makes me forget about all my stress for the time being.

I exercise to stay fit and treat my body well. It helps me to appreciate my body when I do spend a lot of time hating it.

I exercise to feel good! To get the high from accomplishing a run I never thought I could do. To finally get  the hang of snowboarding and be able to go with friends. To have fun! It’s a full mind body connection.

I exercise to get myself outdoors. I believe we as humans are just supposed to spend time outdoors! Working in an office setting, there are days the only outdoor time I get is walking from my door to my car. I hate these days.

I exercise to stay healthy. If I am so concerned about what I put in my body, I should be equally concerned about how I treat it. I am equally concerned about how it looks, however I truly believe that if exercising would never help me lose weight, I would still do it.

Why do you exercise? If you don’t, what makes you feel good about yourself?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to That which moves me

  1. “I did manage to spend some good time with some good friends, hit up our indoor winter farmers market, do some cleaning, got in two amazing workouts (including a phenomenal run) and watch the Oscars.” That sounds like a pretty good weekend to me!

    I love your responses to your friend’s question. I agree with all of the things you’ve listed, but I’d add that I love to exercise for my competitive streak! I love winning a sports game, or beating my PB on a run. It’s a fantastic feeling which (in my opinion) is much better than winning a video game (maybe on par with finishing a crossword or winning at trivial persuit/scrabble, but that’s because I’m a loser!).

  2. Caitlyn says:

    Wonderful response! I exercise for the same reasons. It is time for me to think, release tension, grow stronger (physically and mentally), to enjoy the company of others, to stay healthy, and to be outside. It makes me feel wonderful and gives me a great perspective on life. Exercise = Love 🙂

  3. INCREDIBLE photo! so gorgeous 🙂
    i love exercising and do it for the endorphin rush, time to myself, to stay healthy physically and mentally.

Leave a Reply

