Friday Friday Friday!!!

Mmmmmm, I love Fridays!

Who doesn’t love the cure?

I am finishing my degree via distance, so have about 30-40 hours of homework each week. I made the financially difficult mentally easy decision to only work four days a week because of this. So, I get to spend all day writing a paper on teen pregnancy. I LOVE Fridays!!

So, my day will consist of paper writing, a workout, lots of cleaning, and lots and lots of coffee. Minus the paper, this is a small piece of heaven for me right now. I also need an oil change, but my man does that for me since when I take it in, I get taken advantage of. Last time I took it in myself, I spent $130!! They told me essentially that my car would blow up if I left without fixing these things. Chris informed me after that every single thing was entirely unnecessary and way over priced. Not cool.

Anyways, enough about my pain in the butt car (did I tell you I have had to replace both my windshield and get new tires this month!). I am looking forward to my workout today. I am training for my first 5k, and pair it with Jillian Michaels 30 day shred. I have been feeling amazing! For most of you (at least those of you who’s blogs I read!), a 5k is a piece of cake. Well here is why it is a huge deal for me.

I have been active my entire life, my whole family is active and I am extremely grateful for this. I danced very competitively from a young age, and it was my passion. It was the reason I was alive!

When I was 17, I busted my hip. I don’t use the word broke, but I fell with my leg extended jamming my hip in a way that words can’t explain and no pain face can express how much it hurt.

Needless to say, I haven’t been able to dance since then. Not competitively at least. I have dabbled here and there, but can’t commit to anything due to the intense pain that comes on strong….when it decides to. The pain is not consistent, so I can’t really commit to anything. Sometimes I can go for a 2 hour hike and I am fine, other times I can’t walk to the mail box without being paralyzed by pain. Due to this, running has always been out of the question.

It’s always been my dream to run a race. Even just something small. This dream may be in place simply because I thought I could never do it, but it’s there. So, I figured this is the year to accomplish it. So I problem solved.

I am determined to run a 5k. It will happen. I have been training very slowly. I have been doing my training by just running to one end of my street, and turning around, and continuing this cycle until I am done my plan for the day. This way, if I get hurt, I’m not too far from home. I’ll work from here.

Have you ever accomplished something you never thought would be possible? Have you had to deal with a horrendous injury for what seems like way too long? How do you celebrate Friday?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Friday Friday!!!

  1. I love the image! Naturally, had to listen to the song all the way through to check the graphics were correct πŸ™‚

    I am sure you will achieve your 5k goal. After coming back from such a horrific injury, I imagine the road feels pretty long, but you’ll get there. I have never dealt with an injury, but a year ago, I never even dreamt I’d be able to run 5k without stopping – in my mind, I was a sprinter, I could run fast, but not far. Everything can change in a year – I can now run around 10k without stopping, and intend to aim further.

    Your plan of running to the end of the street and back sounds really sensible. I used to suffer from bad stomach aches on runs, and my solution was the same. Maybe try alternating walking with running, to build up your endurance/stamina – you may feel less pain if the running is interspersed with less intense exercise.

    Happy Saturday! πŸ™‚

    • carlydeal says:

      Thanks Ali! Knock on wood that you have never dealt with an injury, very lucky for you!!

      My run did go well with no hip pain. I am doing a walking/running plan broken down into six weeks. I am just at the tail end of the second week and things have been going surprisingly smoothly. Congrats on being able to run 10k, hopefully one day I’ll get there too πŸ™‚

      Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

