Insight from an 11 year old

On Tuesdays I run a program through work for 11 year old girls that focuses on balanced eating, active living and feeling good about yourself. The girls I am running this current program with are brilliant and I am never amazed at the things they say and think up.

Yesterday we were talking about why they think we as society has our current image or perfection or beauty. The girls informed me that beautiful to them means you are blond, tall, skinny, and have big boobs. When I had them dissect their ideas on this topic, their ideas did not change. They decided that they might be beautiful in a different way, but will never be beautiful according to society.

I have been running this program for 3 years and this idea is the norm, so I wasn’t surprised. Our next session is built upon that topics. What amazed me about this group was their questions about why society has these impressions of beauty. I explained my ideas around the topic and one girl raised her hand, and quietly asked:

“Do you think this will ever change? Or am I not going to be good enough forever?”

Is this really reality right now? Any ideas on what to tell this beautiful, intelligent, wonderful child?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

