You Should…

Thank you guys all for your extremely kind words, and all the love. These past couple days have been really hard. My friend who survived had surgery on her aorta yesterday and is still in a drug induced coma. She broke almost everything (including ribs, and spine) and had severe damage to her organs. It’s pretty touch and go.

The driver of the vehicle that was struck (the vehicle in which I knew everyone) is a close friends father. I am so emotional for her and her sisters loss. Nobody should ever have to lose a parent this way.

Which is why today you should live your life like normal, just do a couple extra things along the way.

-Call your parents. Tell them you love them.

This is my Momma, and although I love her dearly, I rarely ever say it.

-Buckle your seat belts. I used to be careless, and essentially stupid. I never wore a seatbelt. I’m pretty anal about it now, and hope everyone else I know is as well.

-Make amends. Don’t go to bed angry. Don’t end a conversation angry. It’s sad that it takes a tragedy to remind us of this, but if you are arguing with anyone over something minor, deal with it so that there is no possibility it is the last thing you say to that person.

-Take a minute of your day and forget about all the negative, and focus on all the amazing things in your life. Acknowledge your family, friends, nature, city; whatever it is that makes your life complete. Appreciate the little things.

The little things like snuggles with your kitty

Or like beautiful scenery

Or the love of your life

Or your blog friends! I appreciate each and every one of you, more then you will ever know.

I have been really preoccupied with life, and since there is no internet at work I read blogs off my iPhone. I am reading all of your blogs, but am sucking big time at commenting. Please know I am still reading!

What little things do you appreciate?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You Should…

  1. Caitlyn says:

    This was beautiful, Carly. I appreciate people like you who remind me to be cherish all I have been blessed with. Still thinking of you, girlie.

  2. We all need this reminder to slow down and appreciate what is important in life. Continuing to send love you way… before I call my family and tell them the same!

  3. Laura says:

    You said it perfectly! Life is short – don’t take chances on your relationships with others. Hoping you have good news about your friend very soon!!

  4. Your cat is an absolute cutie-pie! This was a beautiful post, I hope your friend pulls through soon.

  5. Heather says:

    wonderfully said :)
    i appreciate so many little things it’s kinda silly. i mean, just the fact that i have a soft bed to sleep in, makes me giddy :) love it.

  6. Ayla says:

    A have a few things to say so here goes:
    1. I’m so incredibly sorry to hear about your friend. I just looked into that accident and I feel like crying. It makes no sense to me how someone can not even realize they’re driving on the wrong side of the road. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve accidentally turned onto a one way street but I always realize it right away. But driving on the wrong side of the highway? I don’t get it. You and your friend will be in my thoughts. <3
    2. Somehow I missed your comment on my blog! I'm so glad you found me though because I also love finding other Canadian bloggers, especially ones from BC! :) I'm actually only about 3 or so hours away from Chilliwack (I'm on the Sunshine Coast). :)

  7. omg…I just read this post and the one before it. When I came to your blog before, I was in a rush so I just looked at the ‘About’ page…I’m so sorry, Carly :( I realize this was months ago, but I’m sure the feelings are still there. I love the insight you took on this terrible situation though, reminding us that we should always take the time to appreciate those we love- including our kitties <3

    *hug*

    Char

Leave a Reply

