Good People

Happy Friday! My posting schedule has been such a mess with this job, I just got home form work (where I don’t have internet). Please bear with me :)

Last weekend Chris and our friend Ted went hiking up Mount Cheam, which is a gorgeous mountain in our area with some pretty breathtaking views.

Sadly, I was working and missed out on this! I made him promise to take me one day.

Anyways, while hiking Chris lost his knife. The knife had more sentimental value then anything, so he was pretty bummed out about it. Ted suggested he leave a note in the parking lot with his phone number, just in case someone found it.

Low and behold, a woman called having found his knife. Chris was so thankful, and since she lived near the town I work in, I picked it up this morning from her. I also made sure to bring her a gift card to Starbucks, to thank her for her honesty and helpfulness.

It’s the small things in life that really count. Finding something that belongs to someone else, be it a knife, money, a wallet, a jacket….whatever it may be; returning it is always the best option if possible. Who hasn’t lost something that to someone else may seem meaningless or small, but is devastating when missing to you?

I have lost two pairs of shoes (I know,who does that right?), my wallet, and so many other small things. I’m kind of like a child and need reminders to pick up my belongings :) If any of these things had been returned to me, I would have been the happiest girl on earth.

I think there are certain things it is acceptable not to try and return; if I ever found $5 on the side of the road, that’s mine! But anything that is someones belongings I would make a solid effort to return.

So a big thank you to the woman who returned Chris’ knife!

Have you ever lost anything you wish had been returned? 

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good People

  1. Nothing comes immediately to mind, personally. But this story just makes me smile. It is always refreshing to be reminded that there are ‘good people’ all around!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I’m glad that he got it back! I think sometimes we forget that the world is mostly full of good people.

  3. It’s so nice to hear about people doing the right thing. :D

    My brother once lost his wallet that his grandfather gave him, and it was never returned. I remember he was so disappointed, I would have given anything to see someone return it to him.

    (p.s. Those mountains are absolutely stunning!! I can’t wait to go hiking in a few weeks from now! :D )

  4. When we were little, my brother left his ‘blanket’ (a duvet without a cover) on a ferry to France. He was devastated. 2 weeks later, when we went back to the UK, my parents asked at lost and found, and there it was! The fact that the staff had kept what looked like a ratty duvet was amazing.

    It’s great that Chris got his knife back!!

  5. What a beautiful place for a hike! Chris is pretty lucky to get his knife back. Yesterday we were filling up gas at Costco and found someone’s AMX card. Yikes! We turned it in to the Costco worker, so I hope the guy got his card back. I’ve lost a wallet before and had to cancel/change all of my credit/debit cards. It was not fun.

  6. Heather says:

    that is gorgeous! we went camping in the Cascades here in Washington last weekend and it was pretty darn cool, but those pics are majestic :)
    i have lost so much stuff in life it’s ridiculous. like pairs of pants. how do you lose a pair of pants?? and shoes.
    never got those things back, but it’s all good. i’m pretty much a minimalist anyway.

Leave a Reply

