You know you live in Farmtown…

I believe I have stated before that the town we now live in is a small farmtown. We actually live on a hay farm.

Well there are quite a few things I have been noticing lately that have me thinking, “Only in Chilliwack”.

Only in Chilliwack would you find a drive-thru corn stand.

Only in Chilliwack would three people on horses pass me while I was running.

Only in Chilliwack would your boyfriend come home with a new gun, for hiking trips. (Which I am actually very thankful for as we encountered a bear on our hike this weekend and I no longer feel safe!)

Only in Chilliwack would you drive past a goat farm every day. These guys seriously make me smile :)

Lastly, you know you live in Chilliwack when you buy allll these blueberries at a drive through blueberry stand. For five dollars. I love my life.

Is there something about your town that makes it unique?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to You know you live in Farmtown…

  1. Caitlyn says:

    Goat farm. Cool. $5 container of blueberries. Very cool. Seeing bears on your hike. Not cool (though it is kind-of cool because not many people can say they saw a BEAR; the coolest thing I see are chipmunks).

    The Saturn V rocket is located in my small town. It seems geeky, but it is actually pretty to cool to drive past a massive rocket everyday on my drive to work.

    • carlydeal says:

      Absolutely nothing cool about seeing a bear that close! I’ve seen a ton of bears from cars: awesome. Up close: terrifying.

      That’s pretty awesome about the rocket, I would think that is super cool!

  2. Ah I love farmtowns. My boyfriend lives in one and I just want to be there all the time!

  3. I couldn’t help but hum “green acres is the place to be…” :)

    I love the drive through corn stand!

    Props to Chris for taking care of his lady on your hikes. Bears are not cool.

  4. Laura says:

    Awwwww, beautiful British Columbia!! I’m so happy for you and how much you’re enjoying life in Chilliwhack.

    We ARE having a heat wave here, you’re right! I haven’t had a tan like this since I was in Mexico, oh, about 4 years ago. I know I shouldn’t enjoy it as much as I do…

  5. Bears? BEARS?! Oh my gosh, I’m not surprised you want to be armed on hikes! EEK!

    That many blueberries for $5 is amazing though.

  6. Stephanie says:

    Oh, I’ve been to Chilliwack! It was 2 summers ago during a brutal heatwave. My husband was training at the base hospital there (well, I don’t think there’s much of a base anymore…but military medics were training at the hospital). I visited him for a week. I really liked it there! The river’s so pretty. But it was waaaaaaaaay too hot.

  7. Heather says:

    love love love small town rural living. i sure do miss it :( my most favorite places i’ve lived were in a tiny town in Wisconsin and in the mountains in Colorado.
    lots of unique things about both :)
    now, i’m in Seattle, and tryyyyyyyying to like it….it’s gonna take awhile.

Leave a Reply

