Nature love?

Happy Monday everyone! I know, happy Monday is a total oxymoron, but I try.

Summer finally decided to grace us with it’s presence this weekend, so I am ecstatic it’s not raining today again! I finally have some color, and got to don my bathing suit for the first time this year. What’s there to be upset about? Nothing!

On Saturday we decided to get out and enjoy a big hike. There is so much great hiking and outdoors exploring to be done in this city, and we have barely even started!

Chris insists on wearing this hat every time we go hiking. Sigh.

The hike took about 3 hours, and the first half hour was so hard I thought I was going to puke. Thankfully, it leveled out a bit and was beautiful and scenic the rest of the way.

I love hiking, being outdoors, and enjoying nature. However, I don’t know about where you live, but we have to seriously be careful about bears. We saw a good amount of bear poop on our hike, which is far less then comforting. And then there’s the bugs, but then  I’m just complaining ;)

This hike was well worth it, as the scenery of the river and then the lake was so, so beautiful. I will definitely do this hike again. For me, I really only enjoy hiking if there is a destination of sorts, versus just a long tough walk in the woods.

Well, I’m off to work until Wednesday morning, have a great few days!!

What is the best thing you did this weekend?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Nature love?

  1. Jess says:

    The best thing I did was have a picnic at my boyfriends with my family. It was nice to have everyone meet!

  2. Your pictures are AMAZING! That water looks so refreshing! I want to hike with you, bear poop and all. Best thing all weekend will happen tomorrow (does that count?) I have hot plans that include a pool! First water I’ve seen in months. City summers are new for me.

    • carlydeal says:

      Come here and we will go hiking! Sans bear poop.
      I have never lived a city summer and can imagine it would be hard. Hope your pool day was Fantabulous!

  3. What a lovely way to spend the day! I love going walking; I live very near the beach, and relatively near the forest, but last week was the first time in 2 years that I’ve gone into to the forest for a walk. It makes me feel very ‘primal’ to be in the woods!

  4. What a beautiful lake! My principal’s daughter was attacked by a bear a few weeks ago! She walked away with a swat to the head, but it was pretty scary to say the least. Our weather was finally nice this weekend, too! But today we are back to storms. I guess I can’t complain that it was nice when I didn’t have to work, and it is crappy when I do :)

  5. Laura says:

    Bears!? I’d be TERRIFIED, so I don’t blame you for being a little concerned… the scenery looks amazing… is that out closer to Hope? I have a friend whose boyfriend is from there and they go hiking allllll the time.

    • carlydeal says:

      This was at Chilliwack Lake, which is such a gorgeous area. We haven’t done too much hiking in Hope yet, but it is definitely an area I want to explore more. It is SO nice out there.

  6. Jamie Walker says:

    Went white water rafting on the Kawhea River…so much fun!

  7. How cool you have that scenery so close to you. I had a great weekend with my hubby. First weekend we both had off together in a long time.

Leave a Reply

