The Girl Goes Gluten Free

That’s right, no more Gluten for this girl.

Source

I am a carboholic, and I realize that gluten free does not mean carb free, however it will be an adjustment. I will need to work at this to make it an easy part of my life.

I have decided that although I don’t have Celiacs, I feel so nauseous so often, I am willing to try anything. So here goes nothing.

Please pass along any resources you have for going gluten free! I’m starting from scratch here. 

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Girl Goes Gluten Free

  1. I love Elena’s Pantry! Google her. She has a blog and cookbooks. All gluten free! I can personally attest to her chocolate chip cookies. :)

    If no gluten means no nausea I am sure will be worth it! And tortilla chips are sans gluten. You can survive! :)

  2. Clean Eating Chelsey has a ton of recipes :) I have no advice, but luckily there are a lot more gluten free foods at the grocery store and at restaurants these days! Good luck :)

  3. Good luck going gluten free!! The G free diet is also a good book!

  4. I made the same change – I’m not a celiac, but I have stomach issues since ever – and I feel much better since then.

    Grains to eat: rice, quinoa, amaranth, millet. Oats can be affected by cross-contamination, but if you don’t have celiac, I think this won’t matter for you, so oats are in as well.

    GF-websites:

    http://www.elanaspantry.com/

    http://www.thesensitivepantry.com/

    This one is also great although not all recipes are GF: http://nourishedkitchen.com/

    Hope you’ll feel better this way! :)

    • carlydeal says:

      Oh Kath, you’re a life saver. Thanks for all the help! I agree and I have made the decision I will eat oats. I like to feel like I have a hearty breakfast, and typically was eating toast. Oats will replace this!

  5. Can’t wait to hear how you feel after going gluten free. It’s something I’d like to try one day. I know it will be challenging.

  6. Laura says:

    I’m not too sure of resources but when I was doing the CSD cleanse both Nature’s Fare and Choices Market had a ton of stuff to choose from! And a small section at Superstore too, which was a bit cheaper… In Alberta there’s a chain called Planet Organic (I think they’re in Calgary & Edmonton) that’s probably really similar.

  7. Good luck going gluten free!

Leave a Reply

