Zombie Walk

I feel like this;

Zombie shuffles along San Francisco's Market Street
Source

Fun Fact? I had really bad insomnia for about a year. I couldn’t sleep more then about 2 hours a night, and it was horrendous. Sometimes I would take 4 gravol a night and still not sleep. I think the worst part was my anxiety around sleeping became a contributing factor as to why I couldn’t sleep.

Now I am haven’t had insomnia for about a year, however sleep is still challenging for me. I don’t get tired. Sure, I’m tired…or my body may be exhausted, but the second I lay in bed I am wide awake.

Source

Somehow, I usually fall asleep. Now with Chris gone, my body just seems to not want to go to sleep until about 1am. And I wake up at 6:09, I’m exhausted.

I do everything right; I follow all the sleep rules! I don’t use my bed for things other then sleeping (i.e watch TV, use computer), I don’t have a clock in my room, and I don’t eat past 7:30. Yesterday I had a crazy busy day, and my body was exhausted….how do I exhaust my mind?

Well today is starting with loads of coffee, I need to feel human again. And then I am off to my 8th to LAST day of work! It is exciting, but really sad. I sat down with a coworker yesterday going over my caseload so she can take it over. I almost cried. I really love my job, and I hope that you all love yours, life is way too short to stay at a job you hate.

Tips for sleeping? Do you love your job?

P.S. Thank you all for your notes on packing! Quick question….do you put your clothes in boxes? I am pretty sure I have always just thrown them in the back of my car in piles.

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zombie Walk

  1. Laura says:

    Another trick for blankets, pillows, clothes and winter coats is to buy those gigantic industrial strength garbage bags…

  2. I agree with the above comment-garbage bags for clothes, bedding & other cloth items. Cheap & easy. Plus you can reuse them as trash bags when you unpack ;) hangers on the other hand…
    I’m back to not sleeping. I totally feel your pain :( I’m trying an Epsom salt bath tonight. Hoping it works!
    I love my job and field. Although I wish the tax payers and government loved it a little more….still waiting to hear about teacher layoffs for next year. Hoping I’m not one!

  3. bakebooks says:

    Wait – where are you going??!! Oh God – don’t get me started on anxiety or insomnia…or my job – booooo.

    I’m so glad that you love your work though!! And I hope you get better soon so you can eat more than a slice of pizza at a time!! ;)

  4. Truth- I actually loathe my job, but I wouldn’t ever want to admit that on my blog. I don’t like sitting at a desk all day and I don’t really enjoy that all I do is paperwork, and I don’t feel challenged. Phew. Thanks for letting me get that off my chest.

    Sorry to hear you have sleep troubles. When I have trouble falling asleep I usually pray or I count. I’ll count in weird patterns like in 3′s and if I hit 100 I try to go backwards counting by 3′s. Sounds weird, but it works because I’ll wake up in the morning thinking it must have worked because I don’t remember falling asleep or where I stopped counting.

  5. Are we the same person? I am worst sleeper also… but have gotten better just recently. (this jet lag will not help!) I follow all the rules too and just do the best I can. I find that making lists and getting things of my head helps.

    Packing: (you know I have something to say about this :) If you are moving far then putting clothes in boxes is good. First pack your suitcases full. You can even throw all of your clothes in those huge industrial strength black garbage bags. I’ve done that before.

Leave a Reply

