How NOT to move.

Happy Monday everyone! It is a bright and early morning here as I head over to my friends to take care of her newborn! She had him four weeks early in an emergency C-section last Monday and they are both healthy and happy to be home!

I had a great weekend, other then the Saturday send off of Chris.

Bye Babe! He is off working for two weeks out of town, however will be returning this weekend so no big complaints here.

I decided that this weekend I needed to start packing for our big move to….somewhere. Hopefully we find out this week where we are moving. I know, I say that every week.

Now, I am a horrendous packer. I can’t pack for anything; be it a weekend trip to my Mom’s or my entire house. Things just never work out. This time I was determined for it to be different. Yet, I didn’t get very far.

Step one:

Act like a grown up and hang your clothes up that you piled on the floor. Reminder Carly: You have a massive, beautiful closet. Use it.

Step 2:

Read some blogs, eat some oatmeal, and stare at the mess. My cat stalks me when I eat anything out of a bowl as he hopes there is milk in it that he can drink up. Not this time Scot!

Step 3:

Actually start packing. As you can see, three boxes are packed. As you can also see, there are still clothes on the floor. I’ll have you know that one more box has been added to this.

So as you see, packing was not that successful. I blame it on packing being really hard when you still have to live in the house for awhile. What kitchen stuff is safe to pack this early? How many boxes of books is acceptable? Clearly these questions boggled my mind, so I made cookies and watched the hockey game. Although packing may not have been successful, it was a great night in my books!

Do you hate packing? Any tips for me?

About carlydeal

My name is Carly and I live in beautiful British Columbia, Canada! I work for a non-profit organization and spend my free time upgrading my education, snuggling with my LIB and kitty, working out, cooking, and reading.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How NOT to move.

  1. Laura says:

    Ugh, I have moved like 5 times in 2 years and it never gets easier! I don’t envy you at all! Music usually helps me… it will probably get better when you know where you’re going. Especially if you’re excited to get there!

  2. Maybe it’s because I a military brat and we moved 7 times, but I love packing! I should make the disclaimer that I never did the packing. We always had movers for that. I did, however, enjoy the adventure of going to a new place. It must be the explorer/adventurer coming out in me!

  3. I’m awful at packing. My approach is generally ‘shove everything in the nearest box and worry/moan about it later’! Zoning out to some music seems like sound advice, though.

  4. Start with the closets. The things you just “have” but don’t use every day. Use your dining room, or some other rarely used space πŸ™‚ to stack the packed boxes. Once you start you will be encouraged by the progress to keep going… the key is starting. It’s the worst!

  5. Katie says:

    Packing can be a drag : p I saw pop a bottle of wine to help you get your packing on!!!

  6. Katie says:

    typo – say not saw!

  7. I moved in September, one week into a brand new job. I tried so very hard to get on top of things in August, but that didn’t really work out for me. Here’s how I attacked my townhouse (bottle of wine or beer in hand – this is a very important step, do not skip!) I started with the closets, saving just enough outfits & undies to get me through the weeks following (and made donation baggies at the same time). I guess I also started with the living room – taking down all decorations, candles, throw pillows, etc. Then I moved on to the office. Sadly, I decided I absolutely needed every paper, binder, piece of crap from grad school. I still haven’t opened those binders…
    Then it was bathrooms, and the kitchen was the very last thing. I need my kitchen intact! It was also the first to be unpacked πŸ™‚
    Actually, we still have boxes unopened somewhere…apparently we didn’t need everything after all…
    Friends DVD’s also help πŸ˜‰

Leave a comment